Skip to content

Researched, sourced, and free to use

US food distributors, with the numbers actually checked

Most “largest distributor” lists recycle the same estimates. This one carries a revenue figure only where the company published it, says plainly when a company discloses nothing, and adds what restaurant operators say about working with them.

  • 10 national distributors
  • 789 local suppliers verified
  • 25 real operator comments
  • No paid listings
$1.41T
US food-away-from-home sales
Up from $818 billion in 1997, a 73% increase
56.3%
Share of all food spending eaten away from home
Food at home takes the remaining 43.7%
$516.1B
Limited-service restaurant food sales
The larger of the two restaurant segments
$488.4B
Full-service restaurant food sales
Together with limited-service, 71% of all away-from-home spend

Inflation-adjusted, 2025 base year. Source: USDA Economic Research Service, 2025 data.

The list

The largest food distributors in the US

Ten companies, ordered by reported net sales first and then by companies that publish nothing. That ordering is deliberate: a private distributor lower down this table is not necessarily smaller than a public one above it, it simply does not tell anyone.

DistributorReported revenueOwnershipHeadquartersScale
SyscoSYY

sysco.com

More than $84B

Company reported, fiscal year 2026 ended 27 June 2026

PublicHouston, TX
  • 333 distribution centers
  • 10 countries
  • 75,000 employees
$63.3B

Company reported, fiscal 2025 net sales, up 8.6%

PublicRichmond, VA
  • Foodservice, Convenience and Specialty segments
  • Acquired Cheney Brothers in 2024
  • Reported about 4.7% product cost inflation in fiscal 2025
US FoodsUSFD

usfoods.com

$39.4B

Company reported, fiscal 2025 net sales, up 4.1%

PublicRosemont, IL
  • About 250,000 customer locations
  • More than 70 broadline locations
  • More than 90 cash-and-carry stores
$31.8B

Company reported, fiscal 2025 net sales, up 4.6%

PublicProvidence, RI
  • Natural, organic and specialty focus
  • Wholesale to retail grocery as well as foodservice
McLane Company

mclaneco.com

Not disclosed

Not disclosed by the company. A Berkshire Hathaway subsidiary.

SubsidiaryTemple, TX
  • Founded 1894
  • Serves convenience stores, mass merchants and chain restaurants
  • Berkshire Hathaway subsidiary
Not disclosed

Private, revenue not published by the company

PrivateWyoming, MI
  • Founded 1897
  • Describes itself as the largest family-operated broadline distributor in North America
  • Runs retail GFS stores alongside broadline delivery
Dot Foods

dotfoods.com

Not disclosed

Private, revenue not published by the company

PrivateMount Sterling, IL
  • Describes itself as North America's largest food industry redistributor
  • Less-than-truckload consolidation, two to four day delivery
  • Multi-temperature deliveries
Ben E. Keith

benekeith.com

Not disclosed

Private, revenue not published by the company

PrivateFort Worth, TX
  • Delivering since 1906
  • Foodservice products and premium beverages
Shamrock Foods

shamrockfoodservice.com

Not disclosed

Private, revenue not published by the company

PrivatePhoenix, AZ
  • Describes itself as one of the Top 10 largest foodservice distributors nationwide
  • Broadline warehouses in Phoenix, Boise, Denver, Albuquerque and Billings
  • Serves the Western US
Not disclosed

Private and employee-owned, revenue not published by the company

PrivateNaperville, IL
  • More than 8,000 employee-owners
  • 19-distribution center network across North America
  • Certified B Corp since 2015

Swipe the table sideways to see every column.

Why this list looks shorter than others. Rankings that run to 25 or 50 companies are almost always filling the tail with third-party revenue estimates. Where a company does not publish a number, we say “not disclosed” rather than borrowing someone else's guess. Every figure above links back to the filing or investor page it came from.

The data

How big the biggest food distributors in the US really are

Four of the ten publish net sales. Together those four report more than $218 billion, against a US food-away-from-home market of $1.41T.

Reported net sales, most recent fiscal year

Only companies that publish a figure appear here. Four of the ten largest US distributors are private and report nothing.

SyscoMore than $84B
FY2026
Performance Food Group$63.3B
FY2025
US Foods$39.4B
FY2025
United Natural Foods (UNFI)$31.8B
FY2025

Figures are each company's own reported net sales, taken from their investor pages and results releases. Fiscal years do not align: Sysco's FY2026 ended in June 2026, while US Foods, PFG and UNFI report fiscal 2025. They are not like-for-like periods and should not be read as a same-year comparison.

Distribution is a volume business, not a markup business

Operators reasonably assume that rising invoices mean rising distributor profits. The reported margins say otherwise, and knowing the actual numbers makes for a better conversation with a rep than an accusation does.

1.7%
US Foods net income margin, fiscal 2025

$676 million of net income on $39.4 billion of net sales. Distribution runs on volume, not markup.

2.6%
Food cost inflation reported by US Foods, fiscal 2025

Reported alongside 1.0% total case volume growth.

4.7%
Product cost inflation reported by PFG, fiscal 2025

Two large distributors reporting different inflation for the same year, because product mix differs.

3.3%
US Foods independent restaurant case growth, fiscal 2025

Independents grew while chain volume fell 3.5%. Independents are the segment being competed for.

Note the two inflation figures. US Foods reported 2.6% food cost inflation for fiscal 2025 while PFG reported roughly 4.7% product cost inflation for its own fiscal 2025. Both are accurate. They differ because the product mix differs, which is exactly why a single “food inflation” number is a poor guide to what your own invoice will do.

Live story, unresolved

The biggest food distributors in the US are trying to get bigger

The largest food distribution companies in this country grow by buying the ones below them, and every deal narrows the number of wholesale food suppliers a kitchen can realistically call. That is why the directory tracks it.

Restaurant Depot is cash-and-carry: no credit application, no delivery minimum, no sales rep. For a small operator it is the fallback when a broadline will not take the account or the drop size is too small. That is the option under review here.

This is not the first attempt at consolidation at this scale. In 2015 the FTC successfully challenged Sysco's proposed acquisition of US Foods; after a district court granted a preliminary injunction, the two companies withdrew the merger.

Status as of September 2026: Pending. Not approved, not blocked. Nothing on this page should be read as a completed transaction.

Pending transaction

Sysco's $29.1 billion bid for Restaurant Depot

Deal value
$29.1 billion
Sysco's agreed acquisition of Jetro / Restaurant Depot.
Regulatory status
FTC Second Request issued
A formal demand for additional information. No public FTC lawsuit and no public approval as of September 2026.
Expected close
Early 2027
Subject to the regulatory process, which is still running.
Organized opposition
Independent Restaurant Coalition
Has petitioned the FTC to block the transaction.

Know what you are buying

US wholesale food distributors come in five shapes

“Food distributor” covers five different businesses that sell to different customers on different terms. Getting the category right narrows a shortlist faster than any ranking does, and the words below are the ones the trade uses for itself.

Broadline distributor

Sysco, US Foods, Gordon, PFG

Carries everything a kitchen needs on a fixed delivery schedule with one invoice. Easiest to run, hardest to negotiate with unless you keep a second account open.

Specialty food distributor

Meat, produce and seafood houses

One category, in depth, cut or selected to your specification. Better yield per plate and more flexibility, but a narrower catalog and another order to place.

DSD distributor

Bakery, beverage, snack and dairy routes

Direct store delivery. The driver owns the route, restocks the shelf or the walk-in, and often handles the count. Bread, soft drinks and beer usually arrive this way rather than on a broadline truck, which is why they sit outside your main invoice.

Cash and carry

Restaurant Depot, local markets

Walk in, buy, leave. No credit application and no minimum. The fallback for operators too small for a delivery account, and the mid-week gap filler for everyone else.

Redistributor

Dot Foods

Sells to distributors, not to you. Consolidates less-than-truckload freight so a local house can stock lines it could never buy by the truckload.

The pending Sysco and Restaurant Depot deal matters precisely because it crosses two of these columns. Cash and carry is the option that does not require a credit department, which is why smaller operators are the ones objecting loudest.

The whole verified set

What 789 food wholesalers actually publish

Not a survey and not an estimate. Every figure below is counted from the 789 suppliers in this directory, each one read off the company's own website and recorded with its source. It is the clearest picture we can give of how American foodservice distribution presents itself to a buyer.

395 / 789

publish no email address

More than half of this trade gives you no way to place an order in writing from its own website. The phone is the front door.

699 / 789

are independent, not national

Local specialists and regional houses. The national broadliners are a small minority of the companies, even though they are most of the revenue.

709 / 789

publish a street address

Where a company publishes none, the field is left empty rather than filled from a third-party directory we cannot check.

194 / 789

sell over a counter

A door you can walk through without an account. The rest expect a delivery relationship, and most expect it to start with a phone call.

The headline number is the one worth sitting with. 395 of 789 restaurant food suppliers here publish no email address at all, which means an ordinary buying decision still starts with a phone call, and whatever gets agreed on that call exists only in somebody's notes. That is not a criticism of these companies. It is what the restaurant supply chain actually looks like from the outside, and it is the single most useful thing to know before you start shortlisting.

The second number reframes every ranking you have read. 699 of these 789 are local specialists or regional houses rather than national broadliners, and 592 name restaurants among the customers they serve, in their own words. 573 deliver and 146 distinct product lines are covered between them. The biggest food service distributors take most of the revenue; they are nowhere near most of the suppliers.

Counted live from the directory, so these figures move when a listing does. The earliest founding year any of them publishes is 1840. Each is a count of what a company chose to publish about itself, not a judgment about the company: a supplier with no email address may simply prefer the phone.

Unfiltered

What restaurant operators actually say

25 real comments from chefs, owners and managers, quoted verbatim from public threads. Not testimonials, not curated to flatter anyone, and never converted into a rating.

r/BarOwners20 points
Hate to break it to you, but it’s just part of the job. Some advice: 1)Make spreadsheets for ordering. Can be as simple as products sorted by distributor, can also be integrated into your costs and inventory sheets or whatever you use for that. But making things sortable by distributor and/or order day is helpful. Then you can use the same sheets that you use for other stuff but just sort by “Wed” or “Fri” and you know what you need to check on on any given day. 2)Get rid of some dead products. We do this about every 6 months at one bar and about every 4 months at the other. Sale off your dead products. We always have a “$3 while it lasts” shelf on display and just one single button on the POS for that stuff and some people definitely pay attention to it. May have to be anywhere from $2-$5 depending on your area or target costs. 3)Make your reps come to you and remind you what your selection is. Don’t be afraid of them and don’t make too many concessions to them if it’s hurting your time or attention to other details. If you have more time to focus on the rest of your business. If your business does better, it’s good for your distributors and reps. They should understand that. Make them partially accountable for making sure that you have what you and your customers want. They want to sell more of their products!
Read the original comment
r/restaurantowners8 points
How many vendors do you use? I have accounts with 4 broad liners, meat co, produce co, packaging co. I do my best to order the lower cost like items from whoever has them. And if I need to meet a minimum I tell them the price somewhere else. Takes about 1 hr a week to check prices across all of them
Read the original comment
r/Restaurant_Managers8 points
I work for a high end restaurant in Cincinnati, we use 3 food distributors and 6 or 7 liquor/beer
Read the original comment
r/restaurant10 points
We’re a bakery with multiple vendors, every week we take inventory, and order from each vendor on a weekly or bi weekly basis. It doesn’t take more than :15 a day for someone to throw together the necessary order. Make spreadsheets and order forms that do the work for you. Then, every week designate a day for paying bills that have come in, and set up ACH wherever possible, so you never have to worry about missing payment, you only have to check withdrawals against the invoice on hand.
Read the original comment
r/Restaurant_Managers6 points
Yeah, pick one main supplier, have a backup to keep them honest, and drop the rest. If you're buying enough they'll give you money back that will pretty much take care of the difference in spreadsheeting every week.
Read the original comment
r/Restaurant_Managers17 points
I would say yes you are making things too complicated. Assuming you’re using US Foods or Sysco, they usually will give you better deals for buying with them as your main supplier
Read the original comment

Comments are unedited and link back to the original thread. They are individual experiences, not evidence about any distributor in general, and we deliberately do not aggregate them into a score.

Your reps are taking orders when they should be growing accounts

Most food distributors still run ordering on phone calls, voicemails and emailed attachments, then hand-key it all in. VoiceOrder Solutions puts a voice and web front door on the process you already run, so orders arrive digitized and your team stops re-typing them.

Talk to VoiceOrder Solutions

Local suppliers

A list of US food distributors, city by city

The national broadliners will deliver almost anywhere. The independents are where cut quality, flexibility and same-day help actually live, and they are invisible in a national ranking. We are building these out one category and one city at a time.

This is our honest answer to a search for food distributors near me. We will not guess at your location, and a map pin is not research. What we can offer is local food distributors in the cities where we have actually read every supplier's own website, with the address, the phone number and the source on every row. Pick a state below to see what is live and what is still being researched.

Pages live (10) In research (6) Not scheduled

A tile map, not a projection: every state is the same square. Coverage is built metro by metro, so land area would tell you nothing useful here.

Where away-from-home spending concentrates

Per-capita away-from-home spend in 2025, a nominal record high, though still below the 2019 peak once adjusted for inflation.

Washington, DC$9,2872.4x
Nevada$6,0081.5x
Hawaii$5,5721.4x
California$4,8261.2x
US average$3,9361.0x

The dashed line is the national average. Tourism and commuting explain most of the top three: visitors and interstate commuters eat out in a state without being counted in its population. For a distributor, a state well above the line means more covers per resident, and more competition for the accounts serving them. Source: USDA Economic Research Service, 2025.

Methodology

How this directory is built

The rules are deliberately strict, because the failure mode for a directory is confident-sounding numbers that nobody checked.

No fact is written from memory

Every address, phone number, revenue figure and company claim was read off a source document, captured and dated. If we could not capture it, it is not on the page.

Revenue only where the company published it

4 of the 10 national distributors here publish net sales. The other 6 are marked "not disclosed" rather than assigned a third-party estimate.

Gaps are shown, not filled

Where a distributor does not publish its minimum order, delivery days or a street address, we say so. An empty field is more useful than a plausible invention.

Operator comments stay editorial

Reddit quotes are verbatim and linked to the original. They are never aggregated into a rating and never emitted as review schema, because a handful of comments is not a rating.

No paid placements

No distributor paid to appear or to rank. The directory is published by VoiceOrder Solutions, disclosed in the footer of every page and on our about page.

Questions

What are the top food distributors in the US?

And the other questions operators ask before they open an account.

What are the top food distributors in the US?

By reported net sales, the largest are Sysco (more than $84 billion in fiscal 2026), Performance Food Group ($63.3 billion in fiscal 2025), US Foods ($39.4 billion in fiscal 2025) and United Natural Foods ($31.8 billion in fiscal 2025). Several very large distributors are private and publish nothing, including Gordon Food Service, McLane, Dot Foods, Ben E. Keith, Shamrock Foods and KeHE, so any ranking that assigns them a precise revenue figure is using an estimate.

Who is the largest food distributor in the United States?

Sysco, by a wide margin. It reported more than $84 billion in sales for the fiscal year that ended in June 2026, and describes itself as operating 333 distribution centers across 10 countries with roughly 670,000 customer locations. Performance Food Group is second among companies that publish figures, at $63.3 billion for fiscal 2025.

What is the difference between a broadline and a specialty distributor?

A broadline carries everything a kitchen needs, from protein to dry goods to disposables, on a fixed delivery schedule with one invoice. A specialty distributor carries one category in depth, such as meat, produce or seafood, and typically cuts or selects to your specification. Most operators use both: a broadline for staples and consolidation, specialists for the categories where quality shows up on the plate.

What is a food redistributor?

A redistributor sells to distributors rather than to restaurants. Dot Foods, which describes itself as North America's largest food industry redistributor, consolidates less-than-truckload orders so a regional distributor can carry items it could never buy in full-truckload quantities. If a local distributor stocks an unusual line, redistribution is often the reason.

What is a DSD distributor?

DSD stands for direct store delivery. The driver owns a route, arrives on a fixed day, restocks the shelf or the walk-in directly and often counts what is there rather than waiting for you to order. Bread, soft drinks, beer, snacks and some dairy usually reach a kitchen this way instead of on a broadline truck, which is why those lines sit outside your main invoice and get renegotiated separately.

What is the difference between a food wholesaler and a food distributor?

In American foodservice the two words are used interchangeably far more often than any definition would suggest, and the companies themselves switch between them on a single page. Where a distinction is drawn, wholesaler leans toward selling from a warehouse or a market stall that you come to, and distributor leans toward running delivery routes out to you. That is a difference in how you buy rather than in what kind of company it is, which is why this directory records how each supplier actually sells instead of relying on the label.

How do I find food distributors near me?

Start with the category rather than the map. Decide whether you need a broadliner, a specialist, a cash and carry or a DSD route, then look for that type in your metro, because a supplier ten miles away whose route reaches your street on the right day beats one two miles away that does not come at all. Our city pages list every supplier we have verified in that metro with its real address and the source we read it from, and the route day is the question worth asking first on the phone.

How do I choose between restaurant food suppliers?

Get two quotes on the same specification, which is the only reliable way to know whether the first one is fair, and keep a second account open on at least one line so you still have that comparison next year. Ask which day the route reaches your street and what time the order has to be in, before you ask about price, because a cheaper supplier that arrives on the wrong day costs more. Then ask about the order minimum and the delivery minimum separately: they are frequently different numbers and neither is usually published.

How many US wholesale food distributors are there?

Nobody publishes a reliable count, and we are not going to invent one. What is measurable is the demand side: the USDA Economic Research Service puts US food-away-from-home sales at $1.41 trillion in 2025, which is 56.3% of all food spending. The distribution market serving that demand is highly fragmented below the top few companies, which is why local suppliers still matter.

Is Sysco buying Restaurant Depot?

Sysco has agreed to acquire Jetro / Restaurant Depot for $29.1 billion, but as of September 2026 the deal has not closed and has not been approved. The FTC has issued a Second Request, a formal demand for additional information, and the Independent Restaurant Coalition has petitioned regulators to block it. The parties have targeted an early 2027 close. There is precedent for a challenge: the FTC successfully blocked Sysco's attempt to buy US Foods in 2015.

Do distributors publish their minimum order sizes?

Almost never. Delivery minimums, cut-off times and drop schedules are set per account against your volume and location, so they are quoted on a call rather than published. When you are comparing suppliers, the four questions that decide whether an account works are the minimum drop, the delivery days for your zip code, the order cut-off for next-day, and the process when an order arrives short.

How is this directory funded, and are listings paid?

No distributor paid to be listed and there are no affiliate links to any of them. The directory is published by VoiceOrder Solutions, an ordering software company, and that relationship is disclosed in the footer of every page, on our about page and in our terms. Listings are ordered by supplier type and reported size, never by any commercial relationship.